Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Dohnányi: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2

'As to the performance, Chandos has chosen judiciously: Howard Shelley sounds as if the piece sits well under his hands. He gets the overall accent precisely right and Bamert's orchestra is again beyond criticism. This is an invaluable addition to what could well be a benchmark series.' --Gramophone

Anyone who has read this far and has a soft spot for obscure post-Romantic repertoire should probably buy this disc: it is practically mandatory for collectors who are serious about the music of Dohnányi. --Fanfare (USA)

'Although fine alternative versions of all three works are currently available, none to my mind matches the qualities of the present disc. Without doubt, Matthias Bamert's powerfully delineated conducting and the brilliantly incisive playing of the BBC Philharmonic make all the difference, providing the ideal backcloth for the excellent team of soloists..' --BBC Music Magazine

A richly romantic reading --The Penguin Guide

Keenly felt, emotional reading…performance is passionate… --BBC Music Magazine

Tasmin Little gives it her lyrical all – and is ravishing. --American Record Guide

'The harpist Clifford Lantaff is scintillating in the Concertino; Howard Shelley brings breadth and bravura to the Piano Concerto No. 2; James Ehnes characteristically blends sensitivity , warmth and spirit in the Violin Concerto. Matthias Bamert and the BBC Philharmonic reveal all the skill and attractiveness of Dohnányi's orchestral pallette.' --The Telegraph

No comments:

Post a Comment